Home International PWC apologises for Oscars’ blunder
International - February 27, 2017

PWC apologises for Oscars’ blunder

Actors during the red carpet event at the Oscars

PricewaterhouseCoopers, (PWC), Oscars accountants has apologised for last Sunday’s blunder at the Academy Awards show at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles, US.

At the awards, which is the 89th, presenters Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway announced La La Land as the winner of Best Picture when, in reality, Moonlight had earned the top prize.

The announcement, led to a mild drama among the audience when the error was corrected and the actual winner announced.

PricewaterhouseCoopers, which has overseen the Academy’s ballot-counting process for the past 83 years, said in statement: “We sincerely apologize to Moonlight, La La Land, Warren Beatty, Faye Dunaway, and Oscar viewers for the error that was made during the award announcement for Best Picture.”

“The presenters had mistakenly been given the wrong category envelope and when discovered, was immediately corrected.

“We are currently investigating how this could have happened, and deeply regret that this occurred. We appreciate the grace with which the nominees, the Academy, ABC, and Jimmy Kimmel handled the situation,” the statement concluded.

Meanwhile, below are the full list of winners:

Best lead actress

Isabelle Huppert — “Elle”

Ruth Negga — “Loving”

Natalie Portman — “Jackie”

Emma Stone — “La La Land” — WINNER

Meryl Streep — “Florence Foster Jenkins”

Best picture



“Hacksaw Ridge”

“Hell or High Water”

“Hidden Figures”

“La La Land”


“Manchester by the Sea”

“Moonlight”  — WINNER

Best directing

Damien Chazelle — “La La Land” — WINNER

Mel Gibson — “Hacksaw Ridge”

Barry Jenkins — “Moonlight”

Kenneth Lonergan — “Manchester by the Sea”

Denis Villeneuve — “Arrival”

Best lead actor

Casey Affleck — “Manchester by the Sea” — WINNER

Andrew Garfield — “Hacksaw Ridge”

Ryan Gosling — “La La Land”

Viggo Mortensen — “Captain Fantastic”

Denzel Washington — “Fences”

Best adapted screenplay



“Hidden Figures”


“Moonlight” — WINNER

Best original score

“La La Land” — WINNER





Best original song

“Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” — “La La Land”

“Can’t Stop the Feeling” — “Trolls”

“City of Stars” — “La La Land” — WINNER

“The Empty Chair” — “Jim: The James Foley Story”

“How Far I’ll Go” — “Moana”

Best original screenplay

“Hell or High Water”

“La La Land”

“The Lobster”

“Manchester by the Sea” — WINNER

“20th Century Women”

Best foreign language film

“Land of Mine” (Denmark)

“A Man Called Ove” (Sweden)

“The Salesman” (Iran) — WINNER

“Tanna” (Australia)

“Toni Erdmann” (Germany)

Best animated short film

“Blind Vaysha”

“Borrowed Time”

“Pear Cider and Cigarettes”


“Piper” — WINNER

Best animated feature film

“Kubo and the Two Strings”


“My Life as a Zucchini”

“The Red Turtle”

“Zootopia” — WINNER

Best production design


“Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them”

“Hail, Caesar!”

“La La Land” — WINNER


Best visual effects

“Deepwater Horizon”

“Doctor Strange”

“The Jungle Book” — WINNER

“Kubo and the Two Strings”

“Rogue One: A Star Wars Story”

Best film editing


“Hacksaw Ridge” — WINNER

“La La Land”


“Hell or High Water”

Best live action short film

“Ennemis Intérieurs”

“La Femme et le TGV”

“Silent Nights”

“Sing” — WINNER


Best documentary short subject


“4.1 Miles”

“Joe’s Violin”

“Watani: My Homeland”

“The White Helmets” — WINNERS

Best cinematography


“La La Land” – WINNER




Best sound editing

“Arrival” – WINNER

“Deepwater Horizon”

“Hacksaw Ridge”

“La La Land”


Best sound mixing


“Rogue One: A Star Wars Story”

“Hacksaw Ridge” – WINNER

“La La Land”

“13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi”

Best actress in a supporting role

Viola Davis — “Fences” — WINNER

Naomie Harris — “Moonlight”

Nicole Kidman — “Lion”

Octavia Spencer — “Hidden Figures”

Michelle Williams — “Manchester by the Sea”

Best actor in a supporting role

Mahershala Ali – “Moonlight” – WINNER

Jeff Bridges – “Hell or High Water”

Lucas Hedges – “Manchester by the Sea”

Dev Patel – “Lion”

Michael Shannon – “Nocturnal Animals”

Best makeup and hairstyling

“A Man Called Ove”

“Star Trek Beyond”

“Suicide Squad” – WINNER

Best costume design


“Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them” — WINNER

“Florence Foster Jenkins”


“La La Land”

Best documentary feature

“Fire at Sea”

“I Am Not Your Negro”

“Life Animated”


“O.J.: Made in America” — WINNER


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *