Home Sports Ballon D’or: Modric era begins
Sports - December 4, 2018

Ballon D’or: Modric era begins

Modric with his trophy

Real Madrid star, Luka Modric’s era of dominating football awards has began, after Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi  dominated the scene for about 10 years.

The Croatia midfielder, was named the 2018 Ballon D’Or winner after winning the UEFA and FIFA best player of 2018.

The talented playmaker saw off competition from France’s World Cup stars to end a 10-year stranglehold on the award by Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

Modric, 33, was announced as the winner of the prestigious prize in Paris ahead of Ronaldo and French World Cup winner Antoine Griezmann.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *