Home Entertainment AGN election: Winners and their offices
Entertainment - November 7, 2019

AGN election: Winners and their offices


By Amechi Obiakpu

After a peaceful election of the Actors Guild of Nigeria over the weekend, winners emerged to steer the leadership of the body of actors in Nigeria.

The election held at the oil rich Akwa Ibom State, saw emergence of Emeka Rollas and a team of other actors.

Over 187 delegates from 22 states (Abia, Abuja, Adamawa, Anambra, Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Benue, Cross River, Delta, Edo, Enugu, Ebonyi, Gombe, Imo, Kaduna, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Plateau, Taraba, Yobe) of the federation came for the epoch-making elections.

The newly elected officers are:

National President – Emeka Rollas Ejezie

Vice President North Central – Mohammed Kareem

Vice President North West – Wassh Waziri Hong

Vice President South East – Lolo Oby Kate Okafor

Vice President South West – David Babafemi Branch

Secretary General – Abubakar Sanusi

Assistant Secretary General – Chelsea Raphael Nwodo

Financial Secretary – Emeka Duru.

Treasurer – Maradona Mikevine Paul

Public Relations Officer – Coker Monalisa Chinda

Director of Guild Services — Anigbo Clement Cowboy.

Chief Whip – Adigizi Bala.

North East Vice President did not win because he couldn’t make 2/3 of the total vote.

South South Vice president, Rita Daniel will go for a by Election because she became sick in Uyo and was rushed to the hospital while Bar. Ikechukwu Ezenagu, contesting for the position of Vice National Secretary was disqualified because he was absent and by AGN constitution no voting by proxy.

Article 4; section 4; e states: ”Only members present for the election shall vote and be voted for.”

Excited Commissioner of Culture and Tourism Akwa Ibom Mr. Or man Essien welcomed the guild to the state and urged the guild to chat a new course to the next level saying the state has infrastructure to make movies and that the state would partner the guild for beneficial projects.

Newly elected president of the guild, Ejezie Emeka Rollas thanked all for the peaceful conduct of the election and promised to carry everyone along for the betterment of the guild.

He also promised to do more than he did during his tenure as Interim government of national unity.

Dignitaries at the event include Hon. Desmond Elliot, President, Association of Movie Producers (AMP), Ralph Nwadike, President, Theatre Arts Motion Pictures Producers Association of Nigeria (TAMPPAN), Bolaji Amusan (Mr. Latin), President, Directors Guild of Nigeria (DGN), Fred Amata, Segun Arinze and pastor Goddy Goddy among others.

Contact us on espinewsng@gmail.com or call; 08032519246.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *